Back To Main Menu

On 26 August 2022, NAFA organised the annual Scholarships & Awards Session to show appreciation to our donors for their generous contributions that go towards the disbursements of scholarships, bursaries, and financial awards to outstanding students.

In her welcome address, Mrs Tan Soh Wai Lan, President of NAFA, thanked the donors for their unwavering belief in our students and the Academy. “Our students’ achievements are evident of the support from our community, including donors who play a vital role in helping the Academy achieve its mission.” She added, “It is through the strength of community support, that has sustained NAFA, and enabled our students to scale greater heights.”

A total of 232 scholarships and awards, amounting to $1.2 million were presented that afternoon.

After the ceremony, award recipients had the opportunity to meet their benefactors in person and expressed their heartfelt thanks while sharing more about their works and learning experience in NAFA.

Congratulations to all recipients, and our sincere gratitude to all our donors.

Mr Chew Kwee San, Council Member of Tan Chin Tuan Foundation received a token of appreciation from Mrs Tan-Soh Wai Lan, NAFA President. They are joined by the award recipients.

Mysara Mohamad Imran and Choong Yan Yu Alicia had the opportunity to meet their benefactor, Mrs Tan-Kan Shook Wah, Founder of The Dare to Dream scholarship in person as they shared their learning experience in NAFA.

Samuel Pang En from Bachelor of Education (Honours) in Instrumental & Vocal Teaching, is a recipient of The Shariff-Vaidhya Arts Scholarship (Degree). He expressed his gratitude to Mr Sriram Vaidhya for awarding him this scholarship as he continues to pursue excellence in his studies. From left: Mr Rei Poh,Samuel Pang En, Mr Sriram Vaidhya, Dr Ernest Lim

Mrs Tan-Soh Wai Lan, NAFA President delivered a welcome address to thank donors for their unwavering support of the Academy and the students.

Year 2 student from Diploma in Theatre, English Drama and proud recipient of the NAFA Scholarship (Diploma), Heather Chung Yoon Seo, expressed her heartfelt thanks in her speech to her benefactors.

Mr KH Tan, Managing Director, Newsman Realty was presented with a certificate of appreciation that was designed by Angela Toh, recipient of Tan Chin Tuan Scholarship for Creative Education.

19 award recipients joined Mr Tan Keng Leck, Vice Chairman of Tan Ean Kiam Foundation and Mrs Tan-Soh Wai Lan, NAFA President on stage during the Scholarships & Awards Tea Session.

Mr Chia Mia Chiang, Vice Chairman, Donation and Charity Sub-Committee, The Ngee Ann Kongsi, were present to receive a certificate of appreciation from NAFA President, Mrs Tan-Soh Wai Lan.

Mrs Tan-Soh Wai Lan, NAFA President presented a token of appreciation to Dr Brian Shegar, Chairman of Masonic Charitable Fund, joined by the award recipients.

Mr Goh Chong Khing and Ms Goh Peck Hong, are among the many new donors who have come forward to nurture the next generation of creative talents.

Other award recipients joined onstage for a photo-taking session with the Scholarships and Financial Aids Panel AY22/23.

Past and current OCBC Scholars seen taking a picture with Ms Jacintha Low, who was present to receive the token of appreciation on behalf of OCBC Bank.

Family of late Mr Leong Yoon Pin, Ms Lucy Leong and Mr Charles Leong (standing left) seen taking a photo with NAFA President, Mrs Tan-Soh Wai Lan and Ms Sharifah Shahirah Binte Jasni during the interactive session.

The audience were treated to a live performance of Eine Kleine Nachtmusik by Mozart, played by alumni scholars Chee Jun Sian, Nadine Ng, Thantakorn Lakanasirorat and Ryan Yee.

A beautiful dance item, based on the poem “Please” by Yulia Chicherina was choreographed by Chastukhin Kirill, recipient of NAFA Entry Merit Award.

Award recipients gathered for a photo-taking opportunity during the Scholarships & Award Tea Session 2022.

10 works created by our scholars from School of Art & Design were put on display to showcase the skills they have accumulated throughout their time in the Academy.